Sarawak’s GPS coalition now in campaign mode

Sebaran :

Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu Wanita chief Datuk Seri Fatimah Abdullah (front row 6th from left) with state branch chiefs in state election preparation talks.

MIRI: The political parties in the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) coalition have swung into action to prepare for state elections, as the Parti Pesaka Bumiputra Bersatu (PBB) Wanita members have been directed to start campaigning on the ground.

PBB Wanita Chief Datuk Seri Fatimah Abdullah told The Star on Monday (Jan 20) the call is out to get ready for the 12th state polls, which can be called at any time now.

“The exact date for the dissolution of the State Assembly is only known to the Chief Minister, but we are now in full gear,” she said.

PBB is the biggest party in the GPS coalition that has the majority in the Sarawak state assembly.

“Our message is for Sarawakians to fight for the interests of Sarawak. PBB Wanita has 160,801 members and my call to them is to start campaigning to help the incumbent GPS elected representatives now,” she added.

Fatimah said that she held a closed-door meeting with all the PBB Wanita chiefs from all the divisions and branches over the weekend regarding the state polls.

“Fight for Sarawak and fight for the well-being of Sarawakians, this is our battle cry,” she said.

Fatimah declined to comment on speculation that the Sarawak polls would come before the Gawai Dayak festivities on June 1.

“Only the Chief Minister knows the exact date. We are on standby,” she said.

The Sarawak ruling parties of Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) left Barisan Nasional, after it lost the Federal Government to Pakatan Harapan in the national polls about two years ago.

They have since declared themselves to be friendly but politically-independent from the Pakatan government.

The current Sarawak state assembly term expires in June 2021, but the talk is that a snap polls will be held very soon.

Out of the 82 state seats, GPS controls 67.

The Opposition Pakatan parties of Sarawak DAP have seven seats, while Sarawak PKR has three seats.

Parti Sarawak Bersatu, which is not part of GPS or PH, has four state seats, while there is one independent assemblyman.

The Star

Sebaran :

Leave a Reply